Fleur Johns appointed as Head of School and Dean of Sydney Law School

Fleur Johns
Fleur Johns
Professor Fleur Johns is returning to Sydney Law School, where she started her prestigious academic career. She commences in Semester 1, 2025. Professor Johns is committed to research excellence and educational innovation, and is dedicated to enhancing student experience, learning and well-being.

Today the Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Annamarie Jagose, announced that Professor Fleur Johns has been appointed as the new Head of School and Dean of Sydney Law School, and will take up her new role in advance of Semester 1 2025. 

"Fleur is an established and respected academic leader. She has fostered thriving and diverse intellectual and pedagogic communities across local and international higher education sectors, and has built effective, multi-sectoral and interdisciplinary collaboration. Her unwavering commitment to research excellence and educational innovation, and dedication to enhancing student experience, learning and wellbeing will be invaluable assets to the School and to the University," Professor Jagose said.  

"As we deliver on our Sydney in 2032 aspirations, I am confident Fleur will advance the strengths of Sydney Law School as a place rich in diversity, transformative education, and extraordinary research. Her passion and dedication to student-centric education and high-quality research will undoubtedly inspire, support and challenge those around her to reach their fullest potential."  

Professor Fleur Johns

In accepting the appointment, Professor Johns said: "Having spent the first ten years of my academic career at Sydney Law School, I am thrilled to return at a time when such positive transformations are underway at both the School and the University. It will be a privilege to take on this new role, and build on the work done by my predecessor, Simon Bronitt, towards diversifying the School’s students and staff and expanding its international partnerships. I am wholeheartedly committed to working with colleagues, students, alumni, and partners to ensure that the School is one of the most exciting places to study, research, and collaborate on addressing the most pressing challenges, and realising the opportunities, facing the legal profession and the world. I can’t wait to get started."

Professor Johns obtained a Doctorate of Law (SJD) and Masters of Law (LL.M.) at Harvard University and is an Australian Research Council Future Fellow (2021-2025) and a Visiting Professor at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden (2021-2024). She is celebrated for her commitment to research excellence and her discipline, launching a new Faculty Research Strategy for Law at the University of New South Wales (UNSW), leading interdisciplinary research collaborations, and spending six years as a practicing lawyer. She is currently a Professor in the Faculty of Law and Justice at UNSW and serves on UNSW’s Academic Board.

Interim Head of School and Dean

Professor Rita Shackel, Deputy Head of School and Deputy Dean of Sydney Law School, will serve as interim Head of School and Dean from 1 July 2024 to 31 January 2025. "I know that Rita will bring her considerable skills to bear on leading the School effectively through this transition period," said Annamarie. "She has a detailed understanding of the School and its wider institutional context as well as the confidence of her colleagues."

From co-founding the Food Governance Conference to the regulation of unhealthy food marketing to children, Associate Professor Belinda Reeve is leading research to explore the role of law, regulation, and policy in creating a healthy and sustainable food system.

Dr Senthorun Raj, a Sydney Law School alum, has returned to the school as part of the visiting fellows program for 2024. Dr Raj’s return to Sydney and beginning of his fellowship will coincide with the 2024 Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras Festival.

Sydney Health Law has hosted three law students, presenting an opportunity to engage with a current health law challenge and contribute to international legislation in the Pacific Community.