10th EU-ESA Space Council

Ministers of the Council of the European Union and of the ESA Council at Ministerial level will participate to a virtual meeting this Friday 20 November, for the 10th edition of the European ’Space Council’. The theme of this Space Council is: ’Orientations on the European contribution in establishing key principles for the global space economy’.

Programme - 20 November

9.00 - 10.45: Video conference of EU space ministers:

- Policy debate on "Europe’s role in the global space economy"
- Preparation of the 10th Space Council
- Work programme under Portuguese presidency

In the margin, the following events will take place :

11.30 - 12.00: Video conference of 293rd ESA Council at ministerial level
12.00 - 14.30: Video conference of 10th EU-ESA Space Council

Following the Space Council, an online press conference will take place.

At +/-14:30: EU Council and Space Council press conference in live streaming (~ 45min)

Speakers are:

  • Space Council chair Peter Altmaier, German Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy
  • Thierry Breton, European Commissioner for Internal Market
  • ESA co-chair Manuel Heitor, Portugese Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education
  • ESA co-chair Bruno Le Maire, French Minister of the Economy and Finance
  • ESA Director General Jan Wörner

This session will be moderated by German EU Council presidency spokesperson Susanne Körber. After initial statements, she will open the floor for journalists’ questions.

Media registration

The press briefing will be available in 3 languages (English, French, German).

European media representatives are invited to register using the link below and are kindly asked to indicate the choice(s) of language by Thursday 19 November (17:00 CET):

Follow online

The Space Council press conference will be hosted on ESA Web TV:

This virtual press conference will also be streamed on the Council of EU’s website:

Photos and footage of the press conference will be available at:

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Slovenia and Latvia are Associate Members.

ESA has established formal cooperation with six Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with Eumetsat for the development of meteorological missions.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space. ESA also has a strong applications programme developing services in Earth observation, navigation and telecommunications.

Learn more about ESA at www.esa.int

This site uses cookies and analysis tools to improve the usability of the site. More information. |