Faculty/staff honors: Distinguished educator, historic preservation planning award - and a film documentary appearance

Recent honors to and awards for University of Washington faculty and staff members include a documentary film appearance, a distinguished educator award and an honor for historic preservation planning.

Historian Glennys Young featured in Spanish TV documentary about Cold War-era interrogation program

Glennys Young , professor of history and of international studies and chair of the Department of History, was featured in a Spanish television documentary, " Project Niños: Cold War in Sunny Spain ,” which aired in October. The film is about years-long CIA interrogations of Spanish citizens during the Cold War who were sent as children to the Soviet Union in 1937 to escape the Spanish Civil War, then later returned to their homeland in the 1950s. Young, a specialist in Russian and Soviet history, was interviewed in June of 2019 while in Spain for book research. Watch a trailer for the film. Read more on the department website.

* * *
Distinguished educator award, national committee posts for Evans School’s Ann Bostrom

Ann Bostrom , professor in the Evans School of Public Policy & Governance, has received the 2020 Distinguished Educator Award from the Society for Risk Analysis. The award is given each year to "that teacher, author or mentor who has contributed substantially to the training of new experts in risk analysis.” The Evans School’s Allison Cullen received the award in 2014.

Bostrom, the Weyerhaeuser Endowed Professor in Environmental Policy, also has recently been named to two national committees. She will serve a three-year term on an advisory committee with the federal National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program. And she has been named to the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine’s Committee on Assessment of Strategies for Managing Cancer Risks Associated with Radiation Exposure During Crewed Space Missions.

State historic preservation award for Nicole Klein and colleagues with ASUW Shell House’s ’The Next 100 Years’ campaign

The Washington State Department of Archaeology and Historic Preservation has named Nicole Klein and fellow members of the ASUW Shell House’s "The Next 100 Years” campaign the recipients of its 2020 Outstanding Achievement in Historic Preservation Planning Award. Klein is capital campaign manager for the ASUW Shell House.

"Driven by the building’s centennial in 2018 along with the inspiring story chronicled in ’The Boys in the Boat ,’ a group of UW alums, former rowing team members, the student union, plus friends and family, came together

with a vision to restore and open up the building for public education and enjoyment,” the award states. "Nicole was the perfect person to lead this ambitious fundraising effort. Her passion for the preservation of this building and its rich history is boundless.”

Klein also credits Matt Newman , director of UW Recreation, for gathering the team, which also included veterans and area tribal members as well as historians and architects, aviators, sailors and UW staff and faculty.

The 2020 awards also included a special achievement honor for the new Burke Museum on the UW campus, saying, "The new facility offers superior protection and curation of our region’s shared heritage that will continue to be preserved.”

Tag(s): Ann Bostrom o ASUW Shell House o Department of History o Evans School of Public Policy & Governance o Glennys Young o Matt Newman o Nicole Klein

This site uses cookies and analysis tools to improve the usability of the site. More information. |