Media advisory for Ax-3 mission with ESA project astronaut Marcus Wandt

Following the return of ESA Project Astronaut Marcus Wandt from his first mission to the International Space Station (ISS), he and the Axiom-3 (Ax-3) crew will share their unique experiences and insights during a press conference on Tuesday 27 February.

This will the first joint opportunity for the crew to highlight the achievements of the first all’European commercial astronaut mission to the ISS.

The Axiom-3 crew was launched on 18 January 2024 and spent 18 days on board the Space Station (20 days in space). Marcus served as mission specialist alongside fellow crew members Walter Villadei from Italy, Alper Gezeravci from Türkiye and Michael López-Alegría, a dual US-Spanish citizen.

As part of his Muninn mission, Marcus supported numerous European experiments and many more international experiments in microgravity.

The Ax-3 crew returned to Earth on 9 February.

Programme

Tuesday 27 February, 17:00 CET / 10:00 CT

Participants include:
  • Michael López-Alegría, Ax-3 Commander, Axiom Space, US and Spain
  • Walter Villadei, Ax-3 Pilot, Italian Air Force
  • Alper Gezeravci, Ax-3 Mission Specialist, Türkiye
  • Marcus Wandt, Ax-3 Mission Specialist, ESA/Sweden

Registration

Media must register to participate before 19:00 CET / 12:00 CT on 26 February. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the press conference.

Register here for the Ax-3 crew return press conference: https://axiomspace.zoom.us/we­binar/regi­ster/WN_1p­rafxstT8Wk­CDk72IlREA