Media Invitation: 15th European Space Conference in Brussels

The 15 European Space Conference will be hosted in Brussels, Belgium, from Tuesday to Wednesday, 24-25 January 2023, at the Palais Egmont (Place du Petit Sablon 8, Brussels 1000).

This year’s edition of the European Space Conference, organised by Business Bridge Europe, will focus on Securing the Future of Europe in Space.

Media representatives are invited to register for the two-day event, to attend a Q&A session on "ESA’s Space Ambitions" with ESA Director General Dr Josef Aschbacher, taking place on 24 January 2023, at 11:30-12:00 CET. ESA astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti and ESA Directors will also be in attendance.

The European Space Conference brings together high-level decision-makers from across EU institutions, Member States, the European Space Agency and industry to discuss European space policy and its technological and industrial challenges.

Accredited journalists will have the opportunity to request interviews on-site, and to attend the following talks and briefings in person or remotely:

Programme highlights

Tuesday 24 January (CET)

9:40-9:50 - Europa room
Keynote address by ESA Director General, Josef Aschbacher

11:30-12:00 - ESA stand
Q&A session with ESA Director General Josef Aschbacher on ESA’s Space Ambitions
Also in attendance: ESA astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti and ESA Directors.

12:00-12:20 - ESA stand
Accelerating the use of space in Europe
With ESA Director General Josef Aschbacher, ESA astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti and ESA Special Advisor Graham Turnok.

Wednesday 25 January (CET)

11:30-12:00 - ESA stand
Press briefing and information session on the Artemis Accords with President of the International Institute of Space Law Kai-Uwe Schrogl, ESA Head of Public International Law, Alexander Soucek

13:10-13:20 - Europa room
Closing address by EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth Mariya Gabriel, and ESA astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti

ESA Participants

Director General, Josef Aschbacher
Astronaut, Samantha Cristoforetti
Director of Commercialisation, Industry and Procurement, Geraldine Naja
Director of Earth Observation, Simonetta Cheli
Director of European, Legal and International Matters, Eric Morel de Westgaver
Director of Human and Robotic Exploration, David Parker
Director of Navigation, Javier Benedicto
Director of Operations, Rolf Densing
Director of Space Transportation, Daniel Neuenschwander


Media representatives may register to attend the European Space Conference for free via the following link: https://spaceconference­.eu/#media
Full Programme:­/programme