Q&A with ESA astronaut Matthias Maurer

Media representatives are invited to a virtual Q&A session with German ESA astronaut Matthias Maurer on Friday 29 October from 15:00-16:00 (CEST) to learn more about the latest launch preparations and highlights regarding his mission. Matthias is currently in pre-launch quarantine in the USA.

Matthias’ first launch attempt is on Sunday 31 October at 07:21 CET (06:21 GMT, 02:21 EDT) alongside NASA astronauts Kayla Barron, Tom Marshburn and Raja Chari on the next SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft "Endurance". The backup launch date is 3 November. He will have a small crossover with ESA astronaut Thomas Pesquet, who is currently on board.

The launch will be streamed live and broadcast on ESA Web TV. The crew’s docking with the Harmony module of the International Space Station is currently scheduled for early the next day following an approximately 22-hour journey.

Matthias will be the 600th human to fly to space. During his six months in orbit, Matthias will support numerous European and international experiments in microgravity. Knowledge gained as a result of his mission will shape the future of space exploration and help enhance life on Earth.

Media registration:

Please register online via: https://blogs.esa.int/forms/esa-media-briefing-form/ by 28 October.

The press briefing will be streamed at esawebtv.esa.int , but only registered media will be able to ask questions via a dedicated WebEx platform.

Upcoming events are posted on the launch calendar and events calendar at www.esa.int/newsroom.

This site uses cookies and analysis tools to improve the usability of the site. More information. |