Water polo champions

Scored the game winner to give No. 2 Stanford a 9-8 victory over No. 1 USC in the NCAA final, Sunday, at Avery Aquatics Center.

Stanford (23-2) has won four of the last six NCAA championships and its seventh overall, tying UCLA for the most in the nation. The Cardinal also won it all in 2002, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2017.

Neushul scored the game winner at 4:51 in the fourth quarter - the only goal of the final frame.

. #GoStanford pic.twitter.com/vYOtjyNded

- Stanford Women’s Water Polo (@Stanfordh2opolo) May 12, 2019

Mireia Guiral scored four of the eight goals for the Trojans (28-2). Goalie Amanda Longan finished with nine saves for USC.

netted Stanford’s first goal on a penalty shot at 6:06 in the opening quarter. Neushul evened things up, 2-2, at 4:37 in the first frame. Fischer fed the freshman in transition for her first goal of the game.

gave Stanford its first lead of the game at 7:05 in the second quarter. After USC scored two straight to go up 4-3, the Cardinal answered as

put Stanford back in the lead at 3:36 in the second with a behind-the-back, no look shot that skipped past Longan. The teams were tied 5-5 at halftime.

USC took a 6-5 lead to open the third quarter on a goal by Tilly Kearns.

scored her 150 th career goal with a shot well past the 5-meter mark, which evened it at 7-7.

With 2:30 left in the third,

committed her third exclusion and was ejected from the game. Moments later, USC’s Paige Hauschild was also ejected with her third exclusion.

Neushul drew the exclusion on Hauschild and

scored on the penalty shot to tie it, 8-8, going into the final period.

Over the last decade, women’s water polo has won more NCAA titles (6) than any other program on The Farm. Head coach

‘??????? #GoStanford pic.twitter.com/ejPoTklg2X

- Stanford Women’s Water Polo (@Stanfordh2opolo) May 12, 2019

No. 1 USC vs. No. 2 Stanford
May 12, 2019 o Stanford, Calif.
STAN 2 - 3 - 3 - 1 = 9
USC 2 - 3 - 3 - 0 = 8

Stanford Goals:

USC Saves: Amanda Longan 9

All-Tournament First Team:

, Stanford.
All-Tournament Second Team: Mireia Guiral, USC; Bronte Halligan, UCLA; Kitty Lynn Joustra, California;

, Stanford; Amanda Longan, USC; Denise Mammolito, USC; Emma Wright, California.
Tournament MVP:

o Stanford varsity teams have won 146 national championships (72 men, 74 women) and 121 NCAA championships (65 men, 56 women).
o Stanford has won at least one NCAA championship during each of the last 43 years, dating back to the 1976-77 campaign.
o Stanford has won four NCAA championships in 2018-19, also claiming titles in women’s volleyball, women’s swimming and diving, and men’s gymnastics.
o Since 2000, Stanford has captured 45 NCAA crowns and 59 national team championships overall.
o Of Stanford’s 121 NCAA championships, 32 have been won in the fall, 28 in the winter and 61 in the spring.
o Stanford’s six NCAA titles in 1996-97 remains the national benchmark for an academic year.

This site uses cookies and analysis tools to improve the usability of the site. More information. |