Schmidt and O’Neill elected to Royal Society

   Hugh O'Neill.

Hugh O'Neill.

ANU Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Lawrence Cram has congratulated two ANU academics who have been elected to the Royal Society of London, the longest standing scientific academy in the world.

Professor Brian Schmidt of the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics and Professor Hugh O’Neill, Associate Director of the Research School of Earth Sciences, are among 44 scientists from around the globe who have today been honoured by the Society for their contribution to science.

Professor Cram said: “Election to the Royal Society is the gold standard in the sciences and a testament to Hugh and Brian as well as to the dedicated and talented teams they work with. The ANU community celebrates and wishes both men our warmest congratulations on this wonderful achievement.”

Professor Schmidt was elected for his part in the discovery that the Universe is expanding at an accelerated rate. This work was also recognised with a Nobel Prize last year.

The Society elected Professor O’Neill for his contribution to the field of geology. Professor O’Neill’s work includes research into the chemical composition of the Earth and how the Earth differs from other possible planetary compositions, the origin of the Earth-Moon system, and how melting in the Earth’s mantle relates to global tectonics and Earth history.

Professor O’Neill said he considered such recognition to be a reflection on everyone at the Research School of Earth Sciences.

"This is really an honour for the School in general and how well I’ve been supported by my colleagues and the technical staff here over the years. I’ve been here for 25 years all up and I’ve been extraordinarily lucky to be involved in such a wonderful atmosphere that’s led to a lot of creative ideas."

Trevor McDougall, who worked in the ANU Research School of Earth Sciences in the 1980s, has also been named as one of the 1,350 Fellows of the Royal Society.

Logo Careerjet