Big scholarships for future UQ Gatton scholars

UQ’s Master of Agricultural Science is one of 13 programs at UQ’s Ga

UQ’s Master of Agricultural Science is one of 13 programs at UQ’s Gatton campus available under the Destination Australia scholarship.

The Australian Government is offering 40 students up to $60,000 each in financial assistance for eligible programs at UQ’s Gatton campus.

It’s part of the Australian Government’s Destination Australia scholarship program, promoting tertiary study - from certificates to Master’s degrees - in regional Australia.

Executive Dean of Science at The University of Queensland , Professor Melissa Brown, said the scholarship program offered commencing UQ Gatton students $15,000 per year for up to four years, plus a guaranteed place in on-campus accommodation (at their own cost) for their first year.

“These generous scholarships will help give students the opportunity to not only study at a world top-50 university, but also experience living in a regional community,” she said.

“UQ’s Gatton campus is located just over an hour’s drive west of Brisbane and is home to some of the world’s best teaching, learning and research facilities - particularly in agriculture and food sciences.

“UQ’s School of Agriculture and Food Sciences is ranked first in Australia and fifth in the world, offering knowledge, skills and research in agriculture, agribusiness, food, plants, soils and animals.

“The School of Veterinary Science is ranked in the world’s top 40, on a purpose-built site with first-rate facilities for teaching and research and access to horses, cattle and poultry.

“UQ’s Gatton campus is also a working farm, with more than 1000 hectares of active livestock grazing, as well as post-harvest facilities and greenhouses.”

The University of Queensland’s Gatton campus offers 40 Destination Australia scholarships across 14 different programs, including:

  • Diploma of Agribusiness Management
  • Bachelor of Agricultural Science
  • Bachelor of Science (Gatton)
  • Bachelor of Equine Science
  • Bachelor of Wildlife Science
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Technology
  • Bachelor Veterinary Science (Honours)
  • Master of Veterinary Science
  • Master of Animal Science (24 Units)
  • Master of Animal Science (32 Units)
  • Master of Agricultural Science (24 Units)
  • Master of Agricultural Science (32 Units)
  • Master of Agribusiness (24 Units)
  • Master of Agribusiness (32 Units)

“There are many amazing programs to choose from,” Professor Brown said.

“For student candidates considering where to study in 2020, all I can say is, don’t miss this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.”

Applications for the scholarship close on 17 January and 7 February 2020 (depending on the program), and candidates must have a full offer for study in an approved program commencing in 2020, but need not have accepted the offer by the scholarship application deadline.

Full application details, terms and conditions can be found on the Destination Australia Scholarship website.

Image above left: UQ Gatton’s learning facilities sit against a backdrop of historical homesteads, sporting amenities, and community fruit and vegetable gardens.

Image above right: UQ Gatton is home to the UQ VETS teaching animal hospital, featuring leading medical and surgical diagnostic and treatment facilities.

This site uses cookies and analysis tools to improve the usability of the site. More information. |