Remarkable 17th-century tympanum presented to the UvA
The tympanum from the former Oudezijds Heerenlogement, a men's lodging house on the Grimburgwal that was demolished in 1874, is returning to the University Quarter. The tympanum (a triangular architectural ornament) is a gift from the Association Friends of Amsterdam Stone tablets (VVAG) to the UvA and will first be added to the University of Amsterdam heritage collection, which is managed by the Allard Pierson Museum. The restoration of the carved stone ornament - which weighs 17 tons and features the city crest, an imperial crown and two lions - is nearly finished. A working group from the UvA and the Allard Pierson Museum will investigate the most suitable location to reinstall the tympanum in the University Quarter. As a great deal of construction work is scheduled to take place in the University Quarter in the coming years, permanent installation will have to wait. The possibility of a temporary placement is being explored. The UvA wishes to give the tympanum a highly visible location where members of the public can also learn about the story behind the piece.